North East Mayor and PCC candidates

Posted on 10th April 2024 | in Community

The candidates standing for North East mayor and in two police commissioner elections in our region have been confirmed.

Nominations for the upcoming elections on May 2 closed last Friday and the official lists of who will be on voters’ ballot papers have now been published.

This is a historic year for the region, with a new mayor about to be elected to lead a new North East Mayoral Combined Authority that stretches across Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland.

There were no surprise names appearing on the list of candidates, with the six names in the running having been known for several months already.

The North East mayoral candidates are: 

Paul Donaghy – Reform UK
Jamie Driscoll – Independent
Andrew Gray – Green Party
Aidan King – Liberal Democrat
Kim McGuinness – Labour
Guy Renner-Thompson – Conservative

There are also police and crime commissioner (PCC) elections being held on May 2.
Voters in Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland will go to the polls to choose the next PCC for the Northumbria force area.
The four names in the running for that role are:

John Appleby – Liberal Democrat
Susan Dungworth – Labour
Ros Munro – Conservative
Mustaque Rahman – Independent

The Northumbria PCC is currently Ms McGuinness, who succeeded Dame Vera Baird in the job in 2019.

There are no local council elections in Northumberland this year.

Register to vote
The deadline to register to vote in these elections is midnight (11.59pm) on Tuesday, April 16, and you can do this online by clicking this link.

Registered electors can also apply for a postal vote, before the deadline of 5pm on Wednesday, April 17. You can apply online here.

The deadline to apply to vote by proxy is 5pm on Wednesday, April 24. You can do that here.

Photo ID
Under new rules that were first introduced at last year’s local elections, voters will need to show photo ID at their polling station.
Accepted forms of ID include a passport or driving licence, while anyone who does not have an appropriate form of ID can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate here.

The deadline to apply for a Voter Authority Certificate is 5pm on Wednesday, April 24.

Local Democracy Reporter Service

Share this...
Share on facebook
Share on twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *